Who we are banner


Alphacrucis (AC) University College is at the forefront of equipping leaders for careers of influence in theology, ministry, business, leadership, teaching, music, chaplaincy and counselling.

AC has a rich history of ministry training, having taught and trained thousands of Christian leaders in Australia, New Zealand, and throughout the world.

The college, then known as Commonwealth Bible College, was established in Melbourne in 1948 to serve as the national training college of the Assemblies of God in Australia. It subsequently moved to Brisbane in 1949 and to Katoomba, NSW, in 1974. In 1993 the college's name was changed to Southern Cross College, and in 1996 it relocated to Chester Hill, Sydney. In 1997 a Korean language program was established, and in 1999 a correspondence program commenced.

Since 2000 AC has established a network of campuses in every major Australian state - NSW, VIC, QLD, WA, SA and TAS, as well as a campus in Auckland, New Zealand.

Our online program has grown in scope so that courses can be taken fully online, or in combination with face-to-face classes at any AC campus. In addition, we continue to establish partner delivery points throughout Australia and around the world. Our partners ranging from high schools and universities, to churches and charitable/not-for-profit organisations.

In 2009 the college changed its name to Alphacrucis College (AC). Alphacrucis is the brightest star at the foot of the Southern Cross Constellation. Our desire is that AC and its students and alumni shine brightly at the foot of the cross.

In 2022, Alphacrucis has been registered by the national tertiary accrediting body, TEQSA, as a University College. This decision makes Alphacrucis only the fourth University College in Australia, the first Pentecostal higher education institution of this level in Australia’s history, and the only Pentecostal institution in the university-affiliated categories in the Asia-Pacific region.

AC has a diverse range of accredited programs from Vocational (VET) Certificates through to PhDs in ministry, theology, leadership, business, education, and creative arts. We have a strong reputation for excellence in training, teaching, and research and have consistently high scores in independent student satisfaction and outcome surveys.

The vision of AC is to be a global Christian university, transforming neighbourhoods and nations. Its mission is to equip Christian leaders to change the world.


We are thankful for the legacy and outstanding contribution our Principals have made to AC. Since 1948, the Principals have been (in order): Frank Sturgeon, Leonard Palmer, Phillip Duncan, James Wallace, Harold Bartholomew, Chris Harrison, Ralph Read, Aeron Morgan, David Brydges, Jeremy Griffiths and Stephen Fogarty.